Home

My brief Erlang story

2016/10/19

[ Mostly saving this post for posterity ]

I had heard of the language long before it was made Open Source. In order to get access to the implementation I had Timos Sellis sign an NDA with Ericsson. I had fun with Mnesia (the distributed DBMS) and started thinking of whether it could be applied to stuff I was good at at the time (namely SMTP and DNS). In fact it was. Because most of the Erlang team formed a company named Bluetail that was making software based load balancers with Erlang and got sold at $152M.

Nowadays I occasionally have “fun” with the Erlang VM whenever I have a RabbitMQ instance go mad.

But this? This is something only someone like the guy who writes RabbitMQ could discover:

Donald Knuth was the first Erlang programmer

Leave a Reply

