Home

Not a simple note this one

2012/04/05

Dimitris Christoulas' suicide note

“The Tsolakoglou government has annihilated all traces for my survival, which was based on a very dignified pension that I alone paid for 35 years with no help from the state. And since my advanced age does not allow me a way of dynamically reacting (although if a fellow Greek were to grab a Kalashnikov, I would be right behind him), I see no other solution than this dignified end to my life, so I don’t find myself fishing through garbage cans for my sustenance. I believe that young people with no future, will one day take up arms and hang the traitors of this country at Syntagma square, just like the Italians did to Mussolini in 1945″ [source]

This was not the only suicide. About a month ago, a next door neighbor jumped from the 5th floor. And given a bit of time, everyone left behind will know someone who committed suicide. The Dimitris Christoulas’ suicide moved people so much because he simply stated what many of us think and what most, if not all, of us foresee.

Christoulas was old enough to remember the German occupation and atrocities, the civil war, the dictatorship and the rest of our modern history. Decision makers should take a hint on their effectiveness and escape their groupthinking party.

One Response to “Not a simple note this one”

  1. CK Says:

    *Very* well said.


Leave a Reply

