Home

Returning to my roots

2008/12/31

From my /boot/grub/menu.lst:

title        FreeBSD
root        (hd0,2,a)
kernel      /boot/loader

As a side note, if you want to install FreeBSD 7.0-RELEASE on a VirtualBox virtual machine, you have to use the Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop network card instead of the default one (PCnet-FAST III). VirtualBox’s DHCP server does not seem to cooperate with FreeBSD and PCnet-FAST III.

5 Responses to “Returning to my roots”


  1. Right on time to upgrade to 7.1 (new scheduler, DTrace, etc.) in a few days :-)

  2. Aristotelis Says:

    Why did you ever leave your roots?? ;)

    Happy new year in advance :)

  3. keramida Says:

    Welcome back, then :-)

    What was the latest (even if not only) “trigger” for the return?

  4. adamo Says:

    @Aristotelis:
    FreeBSD 5.x drove me away.

    @keramida:
    I prefer Debian over any Linux distribution, but Linux was never my personal OS of choice. It does not feel like home to someone who “grew up” with Ultrix. So I was down to three choices:

    1- DragonFlyBSD. Actually, if I had a command-line only machine, that would be my choice.

    2- OpenBSD. All these years I always had an OpenBSD machine running X. Well until a few months ago that my wife confiscated the last (laptop) machine in the series.

    3- FreeBSD. I first installed FreeBSD the very next day that 3.0-RELEASE was available. I am back baby!

  5. thanasisk Says:

    Lol, updating by hand from 3.x to 4.x was an experience to be remembered (Hint: I did it the very Friday it came out). I enjoyed the carnage at #FreeBSD@EFNET :-)(Hint: It was not a make world thingie ;) )

    Your *BSD flavour defines your personality, even if the answer is “none”. I guess I will get installing after the holidays :)


Leave a Reply

