Home

eBook companion

2008/09/12

Our DBA dropped on my desk this morning yet another interesting book: “Forecasting Oracle Performance” (in a previous episode he landed “Database Design“). Wow! Using Erlang C in a database environment! I think I should mention that to my fellow student in the MSc course that I took last year who was wondering “Why the hell are we being taught queuing theory in a network class? Where are we going to use it?” Ahem…

But this is not what I want to blog about. Not even the content of the book which I briefly browsed. What I found interesting while reading the introductory pages and the backcover was this link:

http://www.apress.com/promo/tendollar/

With only $10 more you can buy the eBook companion version of the book next to the hardback one. This is very handy when you want to search for something specific in a book. I know I do not easily “grep” a dead-tree book. This way I can read the book the way I like and have the flexibility that I want in searching it.

Bravo Apress! If only more publishers followed your example!

One Response to “eBook companion”

  1. keramida Says:

    “Why the hell are we being taught queuing theory in a network class? Where are we going to use it?”

    HAHA! Excellent quote for a “famous last words” collection :)


Leave a Reply

